top of page

Utsav Committee Members 2023-24

Welcome Committee

If you are new to the Greater Sacramento Region, Utsav would like to welcome you in to our community, provide you with helpful resources for your new move and answer any questions you might have while settling in to your new place. Do not hesitate to get in touch with this wonderful group of people and revive your Bengali connection with friends, food and festivities.

Committee Members:


Sangita Biswas (Lead)


Mitra Choudri (Lead) - Folsom


Rashmi Nandi – Natomas


Sanchita Dey (Soma) - Elk Grove 


Sharmila Mallick - Roseville/Rocklin 


Supriya Mukherjee – Davis

Image by Sixteen Miles Out
Image by Vitaliy Lyubezhanin

Cultural Committee

Utsav organizes several major events throughout the year. The cultural committee is responsible for organization and coordination of cultural programs during such events. All our cultural programs enjoy strong participation from both adult members and our children. These programs include traditional music, dance, drama, recitation, artwork, etc.

Subhra Gima (Lead)

Alodipa Dutta

Anindita Pal

Ananya Nandi

Mala P. Mullins

Joydeep Ray

Rajat Chakravarty

Sharmila Mukherjee

Shashwati Roy

Sunanda Bandyopadhyay

Tania Bhattacharjee

Trina Ghosh

Torsa Ghosal

Udayan Chanda

Food Committee

Utsav organizes several major annual events throughout the year. The food committee is responsible for organization and coordination of food we offer to members and non-members during such events. In the past few years, our food committee has taken a mammoth undertaking by cooking the food in-house and providing authentic and mouth-watering Bengali food to our members.

Mainak Banga (Lead)

Anima kumar (Lead)

Arun Chowdhury

Anirban Bhattacharyya

Barun Bandyopadhyay

Joy Mukherjee

Koushik Das

Prodosh Chakraborty

Rashmi Nandi

Shubhankar Mukherjee

Sanjib Nayak

Shomeek Paul

Shyamal Roy

Somnath Ganguly

Sudip Sarkar

Tanmay Das

Image by rajat sarki
Image by Susan Q Yin

Literary Committee

Utsav publishes a high-quality annual magazine, Chowrongee, every year during Durga Puja. This publication includes articles, poems, and artwork by our members from all age groups. The literary committee is responsible for content, editing, and publishing of Chowrongee.

Mainak Banga (Editor-in-Chief)

Anupam Mitra

Biswanath Mukherjee

Manas Ray

Rajat Saha

Rashmi Nandi

Somen Nandi

Tanima Bhadra

Ayantika Bhattacharya

Debrup Ghosh

Youth Literary Committee:

Nirvik Basuroy (Junior Editor in Chief)

Anaya Bhattacharyya (Junior Editor)

Siddhartha Dey (Junior Editor)

Aratrika Paul (Junior Editor)

Samriddhi Majumdar (Junior Editor)

Srija Bhaumik (Art Editor)

Esha Banerjee (Junior Editor)

Puja Committee

Utsav organizes several major events throughout the year. Of them, the most prominent ones are the two events – Durga Puja and Saraswati Puja. The Puja committee is responsible for organization and coordination of all puja related affairs during these two events that include setup, prasad, bhog, and all puja procedures.

Mitra Choudri (Lead)

Santana Das (Lead)

Anima Kumar (Lead)

Manomita Patra

Paramita Bhattacharya

Rupa Chowdhury

Seema Chanda

Soma Nayak

Image by Souvik laha
Image by Chang Duong

Youth Committee

The goal of Utsav is to get our youth involved in various charitable and cultural activities and impart on them the lesson of giving. This committee was formed to do just that. The youth committee is responsible for philanthropic endeavors within the Sacramento region under the guidance of some very experienced Utsav leaders. Our youth group has recently volunteered at Holiday Toy Drive, Sankara Eye Foundation, Walk4Literacy, KVIE, St. John’s Shelter, Walk for Multiple Sclerosis, COVID-17 Relief project (e.g. Project Breathe, Concert from Bollywood etc.) and Vedanta Society of Sacramento.

Utsav Youth Committee Members:

Rupa Chowdhury (Lead)

Sangita Biswas (Lead)

Manjula Dey

Snigdha Banerjee

Utsav Youth Member Participants:

Abhirup Mukherjee

Anaya Bhattacharyya

Ashna Nayak

Ayan Banerjee

Aratrika Paul

Aradhana Paul

Ayush Ghosh

Esha Banerjee

Evani Paul

Mahika A. Chowdhury

Rishan Dey

Ronit Mukherjee

Sayak Datta

Sharod Nandi

Shriya Banerjee

Siddhartha Dey

Siddharth (Neil) Ray

Sudhit Ganguly

Suhaan Devavarapu

Veer Arjun Joshi

Registration Committee

Registration committee looks after all the membership and non-member admission during all the events.

Adi Choudri (Lead)

Subhra Gima (Lead)

Debrup Ghosh

Prodosh Chakraborty

Sangita Biswas

Sharod Nandi

Somen Nandi

Deb Biswas

Image by Phil Desforges
bottom of page